audacity tape effect:
- download randompitch.ny and put it in
~/.local/share/audacity/Plug-Ins/or%AppData%\audacity\Plug-Ins\ - open audacity and ensure 'Random Pitch Modulation' is enabled using 'Tools' -> 'Plugin Manager' with 'Category' set to 'All'. if necessary, search for 'rand'
- import your audio into audacity, optionally add some silence padding (make sure to merge the clips), and select the track
- apply 'Effect' -> 'Volume and Compression' -> 'Amplify' and use the default value (optionally adjust it a bit)
- create some distortion with 'Effect' -> 'Volume and Compression' -> 'Limiter'. equal 'Threshold' and 'Make-up target' values are recommended. good params are:
- 'Threshold' and 'Make-up target': -3 to -9 (lower numbers for 'Threshold' result in more distortion, i recommend -5 for most things)
- Defaults for other params ('Knee width': 0, 'Lookahead': 1.0, 'Release': 20.0)
- click on 'Effect' -> 'EQ